These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7 NIV

“Look at all those crabs, Mommy!,” squealed my 5-year old with delight one balmy summer evening. Her eyes dashed to the rusty crab traps hanging from the dock. “Why do people catch them, Mommy?” “So they can eat them,” I said quickly before thinking. “But they’re alive, Mommy.” Right. “Well, they cook them before they eat them, you know, like Lobster,” I said half heartedly. She gasped and covered her mouth with one tiny hand. “You mean, people make them dead? We aren’t supposed to hurt God’s creatures!” “Well, we don’t hurt God’s creatures, baby,” I said feeling terrible. “Yes, you do! You eat Lobster, Mommy!” She’s smarter than I thought. 

It’s not always easy to answer kids when they ask us the big questions. I squirm at times and need to do a better job of keeping the conversation going. This verse encourages me to talk to my child about God at all times, not just on Sundays or at prayer time, or when I have perfectly scripted answers.

